CriersWar_engraved_final_01.jpg

Add CRIER’S WAR on Goodreads!

click here to preorder!

From debut author Nina Varela comes the first book in an Own Voices, richly imagined epic fantasy duology about an impossible love between two girls—one human, one Made—whose romance could be the beginning of a revolution.

Perfect for fans of Marie Rutkoski’s The Winner’s Curse as well as Game of Thrones and Westworld.


After the War of Kinds ravaged the kingdom of Rabu, the Automae, designed to be the playthings of royals, usurped their owners’ estates and bent the human race to their will.

Now Ayla, a human servant rising in the ranks at the House of the Sovereign, dreams of avenging her family’s death…by killing the sovereign’s daughter, Lady Crier.

Crier was Made to be beautiful, flawless, and to carry on her father’s legacy. But that was before her betrothal to the enigmatic Scyre Kinok, before she discovered her father isn’t the benevolent king she once admired, and most importantly, before she met Ayla.

Now, with growing human unrest across the land, pressures from a foreign queen, and an evil new leader on the rise, Crier and Ayla find there may be only one path to love: war.

Available for preorder now!

HarperCollinsIndieBoundBooks-A-MillionBarnes & NobleAmazonEpic Reads


ADVANCE PRAISE FOR CRIER’S WAR

Dizzying political machinations intertwine with a burgeoning romance… with nail-biting sexual tension between Crier and Ayla.” —Kirkus Reviews

"Crier's War is a beautiful poem of a book that touches meaningfully on such complex themes as forbidden romance, political subterfuge, and what exactly it means to be human. Fans of both fantasy and sci-fi: this book is for you." —Tara Sim, author of the Timekeeper trilogy

“Nina Varela's masterful storytelling, woven with gorgeous poetic prose, hooked me from the first page. Crier and Ayla come to life on the pages of Crier's War. You can't help but be lured into the vividly imagined world ruled by the cruel and beautiful Automae, where humans must fight a war for their survival. This fierce tale of political machinations, new and surprising friendships, and blossoming love is as heart-wrenching as it is unforgettable.” —Erin Summerill, author of the Clash of Kingdoms trilogy


BUZZ FOR CRIER’S WAR

barnes-and-noble-logo.jpg

Our Most Anticipated LGBTQAP YAs of 2019: July to December

It’s the most wonderful time of (this half of) the year! Normally I take some time to observe trends and firsts and all that, but in truth, the most glaring thing I see about this semester’s curriculum is that…they’re just books. And I mean that in the very best way. These titles aren’t queer angst and one-note coming out stories. They’re full of complicated questioning, nuanced representation, a plethora of genres from horror to historical, great romantic tropes, and just generally 2.0 storylines, whether they hinge on intersectionality, queerness not being a marginalizing factor, or examining queer history in new ways. It’s a wonderful new wave, and I could not be more excited.

EpicReads_Vertical_BlackLogo_CMYK.png

19 Books That Have Actually Broken Team Epic Reads Out of Their Reading Slumps

Book nerds: We’re just like you. Just because the members of Team Epic Reads might have some of the coolest jobs on the planet (literally reading YA for a living—is that not the dream?!), we’re not immune to the struggles that all other readers literally everywhere face.

Namely, we fall victims to reading slumps same as you. And we need to read so many books that when the slumps do strike, it’s a problem. But luckily, we’re all able to help each other out.

Different members of the team like different sorts of books—your fantasies, your romances, your “get revenge on the mean girl” style dramas—and when a slump begins to sink its claws into one member, we can always count on every other to come through with a book that helped them get back into the groove. And of course, we thought we’d pass that knowledge on to you.


content warnings for CRIER’S WAR can be found here.