CriersWar_engraved_final_01.jpg

BUY CRIER’S WAR!

Add on Goodreads!

From debut author Nina Varela comes the first book in an Own Voices, richly imagined epic fantasy duology about an impossible love between two girls—one human, one Made—whose romance could be the beginning of a revolution.

Perfect for fans of Marie Rutkoski’s The Winner’s Curse as well as Game of Thrones and Westworld.


After the War of Kinds ravaged the kingdom of Rabu, the Automae, designed to be the playthings of royals, usurped their owners’ estates and bent the human race to their will.

Now Ayla, a human servant rising in the ranks at the House of the Sovereign, dreams of avenging her family’s death…by killing the sovereign’s daughter, Lady Crier.

Crier was Made to be beautiful, flawless, and to carry on her father’s legacy. But that was before her betrothal to the enigmatic Scyre Kinok, before she discovered her father isn’t the benevolent king she once admired, and most importantly, before she met Ayla.

Now, with growing human unrest across the land, pressures from a foreign queen, and an evil new leader on the rise, Crier and Ayla find there may be only one path to love: war.


ADVANCE PRAISE FOR CRIER’S WAR

Dizzying political machinations intertwine with a burgeoning romance… with nail-biting sexual tension between Crier and Ayla.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Rife with mystery, romantic tension, and political intrigue, Varela’s debut novel is perfect for readers craving queer fantasy with dense world building.” —Booklist

Readers will find themselves immersed in a sapphic story shrouded in political intrigue. […] A lush #OwnVoices fantasy debut with science fiction elements and LGBTQIA+ representation, perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas’s Throne of Glass.” —School Library Journal

"Crier's War is a beautiful poem of a book that touches meaningfully on such complex themes as forbidden romance, political subterfuge, and what exactly it means to be human. Fans of both fantasy and sci-fi: this book is for you." —Tara Sim, author of the Timekeeper trilogy

“Nina Varela's masterful storytelling, woven with gorgeous poetic prose, hooked me from the first page. Crier and Ayla come to life on the pages of Crier's War. You can't help but be lured into the vividly imagined world ruled by the cruel and beautiful Automae, where humans must fight a war for their survival. This fierce tale of political machinations, new and surprising friendships, and blossoming love is as heart-wrenching as it is unforgettable.” —Erin Summerill, author of the Clash of Kingdoms trilogy


content warnings for CRIER’S WAR can be found here.

Click here TO HEAR a sample of the CRIER’S WAR audiobook!